Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

My Favourite Place

When you get asked where your favourite place is, all sorts of locations come to mind.  I love Buttermere and the Lake District in general (who wouldn't), but it was a little out of the question to make such a long journey just to enter the wide Wednesday challenge!  I'll also never forget my week in Yosemite, which was truly special and a dream to visit for over 30 years since I first became aware of the imagery of Ansel Adams.

In the end I combined a walk and headed around to the Wyrley and Essington Canal and in particular the area around Fishley Rover Bridge.  It has been a constant source of Blip material and a quick tally suggests I've photographed and posted a Blip from this area well over 50 times.  It is also the location of my most favourited entry, so it is well qualified to be my blip of the day.

Here, I'm standing on the embankment over looking a local field.  The mist and fog had descended and allowed this recession.  I used a 6 x17 crop, much beloved of old panoramic film cameras.  A 120 film would allow just 4 exposures compared with the normal 12 using this format.  With the briefest of moments where the sun came out it has remained misty all day and as I sit here in the late afternoon it looks like the fog is descending again.

Day Miles: 3.7 miles

Total Miles: 127.1 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.