Who Turned the Lights Off????

Wendy and I met at 5:45 a.m. to go downtown for some shots of the Washington Monument during the blue hour.  We thought we were so smart by going in the winter when sunrise is later.  Little did we know that the lights would be turned off just as we got there. So here is the monument a little while later, just after sunrise.  It's best seen in large. 

It was bitterly cold and we were both really bundled up, with winter long johns, extra layers, hats, scarves, gloves, and hand warmers.  Even with all that, at one point, my index finger on my right hand, which comes out of my photography glove got so cold and painful, I could no longer feel the shutter and focus buttons.  Not a good thing when time is of the essence.  Nevertheless, we made the best of it and tried to get some shots of the Lincoln, Vietnam, World War II Memorials, and Constitution Gardens as well.  My photos really could have benefited from a few clouds too.  A little homework and planning are in order for next time. 

This is certainly one of my favorite places in D.C. with its proximity to so many of the monuments and memorials, as well as the river and I do believe this will work for this week's Wide Wednesday theme.

If you look closely, you can also see the Capitol beyond the Monument, 2 miles away.  Apparently the Impeachment hearings went until 2 a.m. There must be some very tired Senators there today.  Fortunately for them, the Senate TV won't show them snoozing in their chairs. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.