Message

I rode the top deck of the bus to work today, in one of the big buses with huge picture windows, and got the front seat and a great view of the cranes. Later on it was a pleasure to walk through the darkening city, taking some snaps, and to while away a bit of time in front of one of the Message from the Skies projections and readings, at the Northern Lighthouse Board on George Street. This one - Lightkeepers - is location specific, in that it looks at the history of lighthouses in Scotland.

What a wonderful city Edinburgh is!

On George Street, I also visited the Seasalt shop, to collect a delivery which I'd had sent to the shop. This was a terrible mistake, as I also ended up spending some money in the sale. I left the shop telling the people that they needed to close this shop immediately, in the interests of my bank account.... I blame a colleague at work, who commented favourably on the Seasalt jumper I was wearing for getting me going....

It was good to spend the day more or less constructively on something other than the scrutiny of copy-edited files, which I found, in the end, to be a corrosive process. Mind you, give me a couple of weeks and the first round of pdf proofs will be here. Anyway, I paid my tax bill, wrote an annual report, and did some useful planning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.