Millbrook Marsh, Dressed in Winter White

I am a lover of winter. I love its pretty, sparkly frosts, and its ultra-cold mornings when even the air glitters. I love to take pictures of landscapes in the snow. I do not get out on the truly cold cold mornings for photos as much as I used to, and I miss that.

But on this morning, I got myself moving early enough that I was able to make a short trip to Millbrook Marsh, the site of many happy winter morning visits for me. In past years, I have been a stalker of the frost mist rising, one of winter's most amazing phenomena; and of its beautiful swirling winter rainbows of peace.

The temperature was in the mid-teens F, which is to say it was rather chilly. There was not so much mist on this morning (though you may see a tiny bit of mist rising at the bottom of the above shot), but everything was white, and covered in frost. I'm including several photos of what I saw there; there are two more pictures in the extras.

I have some bad news from the marsh, however. The boardwalk has begun to sag and crumble in several spots and the boardwalk trail is closed in a few places. A blockade and sign curtailed my access.

I was not able to get out to the bridge and views of the creek. So while my visit was somewhat limited in scope, there were still plenty of bits of winter's magic to see. So allow me to present: Millbrook Marsh dressed in winter white.

I could not decide on a single song today so here are two that you may enjoy. first is U2 with White as Snow. Second is Annie Lennox covering the 1967 Procol Harum hit, Whiter Shade of Pale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.