Babies

I had dinner with Manda this evening, the first time I've seen her in several weeks.  She's now more than halfway through her pregnancy and really looks like she is pregnant.  We talked a lot about what's changing for her physically and her efforts to stay fit despite carrying so much extra weight on her tiny frame.  Her OB says she needs to gain at least 35 pounds to adequately nourish the boys; so far she's gained 16 but expects that to increase quickly as they get bigger.  It's hard to imagine her that big.  Clearly she's very happy in spite of the aches and pains she's experiencing and is now aware of movement.  She showed me her ultrasound pictures and what struck me was their hands which showed very clearly.  It really made them feel more real to me.

Her baby shower is scheduled for March 7, less than a month after my scheduled surgery, so I'm not sure I'll be able to make it, but I sure hope so.  I'd like to be there to celebrate with all her family and friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.