HarrietGeorgina

By HarrietGeorgina

London Boat Show

This morning I made it through the sleet and snow, and albeit slightly later than planned, I met up with other 15-16 Clipper Crew at the London Excel for the London Boat Show.

For anyone with a passion for watersports, the boat show is the place to be; vast rooms filled with brand new shiny boats of all shapes and sizes - some with engines and some without, stands lined up with the newest technical gear each offering better deals than the next, and the most important factor, as all sailors will know, a bar smack bam in the middle of it all! An all round good day out.

Ahead of my Level 1 Clipper training in August, I managed to get myself a couple of good deals on some essential kit. The first and most significant being a pair of Dubarry Ultima Sailing Boots. Being Clipper Crew has the additional bonus of many retailers offering slight discounts, so this combined with the usual Boat Show knock-down meant that I managed to grab these for a slim £200. I've just arrived home and whilst writing this they are keeping my feet warm - I don't think I will ever want to take them off!

Outside the Excel, I spotted these Star Class boats taking part in the introductory races of the UK Star Championships. In a collaboration between world class yachting and internationally acclaimed artists, Fine Art Sails descended upon the boats and made for a vibrant display. The capture also displays an accurate overview of the weather in London today - grey.

I had to choose this photograph for the simple reason that it shows off the bobble hat of the crew in boat no.8 perfectly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.