Woody, Tinny or Funny?

I’m in Manchester for the Chinese New Year, but although the red lanterns are everywhere, there in no sign of the inflatable dragon which usually graces Exchange Square. This year is the Year of the Rat. Rats get a bad press. I was listening to a podcast on the train on the science of laughter (The Infinite Monkey Cage) which coincidentally mentioned the fact that rats are one of the few species on the planet which are known to laugh. I wonder too if rats’ bad press is partly due to their name being a tinny word. I can’t remember who introduced me to the concept of Tinny words and Woody words; would the Year of the Bank Vole be more pleasing to the ear? Also on the podcast was the idea that “k” words were more comical. Perhaps we should have the year of the squirrel or the duck.
I found myself sitting behind Michal Portillo on the tram. It seems appropriate that a bus enthusiast should run into a train enthusiast on the tram.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.