WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Jazz on the costa

Once again, since I'm not in France, I decided I might as well go to the concert at the Casa de la Cultura, and S came too  because the other S wasn't well enough to play table tennis. 

I didn't have high expectations as I've been to a few jazz/blues concerts here that haven't been brilliant, so I was happy to have them exceeded. This band was formed by some of the organizers of the jazz festival that is held in Almuñecar in the summer, which hosts some pretty big names. They played a selection of standards very well; I particularly enjoyed the pianist. Unusually, the drummer was side-on to the audience near the front of the stage, so you got a great view of him, and he was a subtle player making the best use of all his tools: sticks, brushes, hands.

Edit: here they are playing My Favourite Things in a way Julie Andrews would not recognise. When they played this I learned that in Spanish The Sound of Music is called Sonrisas y Lagrimas (Smiles and Tears).

This time we did manage to meet C before the concert started. Afterwards we went to Friday evening favourite Los Pajaritos where we'd arranged to meet F and T. And later the other T joined us, leaving the ailing S home in bed. Once again we stayed long enough to score the swordfish a la plancha. Another very enjoyable evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.