sp33dway

By sp33dway

SnowFingersBlur

I was supposed to go for a training run yesterday but all the snow hoofing down stopped me in my tracks. I'd been itching to get out today but playing with the sledge and building snowladies took priority until the light started fading, then it was a quick change into the running thermals and a mad dash out before a homemade curry tea.

There's something about the FiveFingers that feels perfect for running on ice and snow. Maybe it's the barefoot feel, the way my feet sense a slip in the making before it happens. My toes get soaked - and frozen - within minutes but, bizarrely, it's not an unpleasant thing when out running - in fact it feels a lot more natural than the other running shoes I wear that feel like over-heated Wellington boots in comparison.

I managed six miles on the slushsnowyice tonight, albeit very slow, and I felt on top of the world until I got home and realised why one of my feet felt warmer than the other: I'd stepped in snow-covered dog poo. Nice.

***
The red bits in the photo are the lights of my flashing armband reflected in the snow. A top piece of kit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.