Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

25 Miles to Shardlow

It was forecast sunny for the morning. L was going out with friends for a lunch date so I took myself off to Rugeley, with a plan to walk the Trent and Mersey Canal, across to Lichfield, via Fradley Junction.  I was surprised to hear on a TV quiz show that Fradley Junction is one of the busiest canal intersections in the country.  Don't get it really, perhaps it is because the Canal and Rivers Trust website describes it as a busy area with pubs and cafes nearby.

I'd been racking my brain for something rhyming with slow, and even after taking this shot it didn't dawn on me until I had it in front of me on the computer screen, doh!  I'd walked past 9 of these mile markers on the walk from Rugeley.

The walk ended with a sprint (that is a slow jog) to the railway station where I just managed to reach the platform as the train pulled in.  Were it not for that laboured run over the last half a mile I would have had to wait an hour for the next train.  Timing proved perfect as the rain started just as I sat on the seat for the return journey home.

Day: 13.2 miles, Total: 151.6 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.