Morning

For a change, I was thrown out early to do Luna's walk. Can't say I was disappointed with strong sun and temperature about to get into plus double-figures.

At one stage I counted the herons /egrets that were surrounding us - 20. I did try to get some in flight as they are truly wonderful to watch but my efforts failed.

I got early shift as Angie was taking Luna to the vet in the late afternoon for an initial investigation of a lump in her undercarriage. We had spotted it a few days ago but wanted to have our favourite vet in the practice have a look at her and today he was in the clinic.

Luckily he is very sure it is not a feared tumour & was able to extract a  large amount of clear liquid from one of her teats. He didn't believe it warranted taking a sample and having it tested but said we should simply keep an eye on it. Relief all around.

While Angie was out, I cooked a Bavarian Haggis, practising should we get an influx of Scottish migrants soon. Commonly known as a Hackbraten here, the verdict was I should have added more ummmph. Perhaps I should have consulted an online Scottish cookbook to see what gets added to give the ummmph. Served with tatties but instead of neaps, 'Gelbe Rüben" - yellow turnips - aka carrots, When Angie got home she was pleased to be greeted with food even if somewhat bland.

And with the sun beaming down managed to get two washing machines done using free PV electricity (the meal was also cooked for "free") and we saved 9.1kg of CO². We are still a long way from producing enough to make us self-sufficient for 24 hours. That won't happen until March. Convinced the snow will come soon & cover our PV panels.

Bees were out & about again today.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.