Some Mothers Do ‘Ave ‘Em...

I always think my birthday’s at least as much about my mother as it is about me. After all, she did all the hard labour - literally! 

It’s been a long time since I actually spent my birthday with my mum, so it was lovely to be able to this year. And extra special to create a double exposure/double portrait with her and to create our first collaborative Blip! Thanks to her for taking this picture of me; and for everything else she’s ever done for me.

Here’s Sufjan Stevens with ‘Happy Birthday’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=z94VCypOHaw

As always, my birthday falls on Holocaust Memorial Day and, as always, I believe it’s crucial that we never forget, and never allow hatred, lies or ignorance to lead to history repeating itself. If my Jewish great-great-grandfather hadn’t come to England from what is now Ukraine, my mum, Goatee and I wouldn’t be here today. Many, many people who might’ve been here today weren’t so lucky. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.