Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Across the road

A new fence going up around a new house in the development across the road. I guess they don’t want anybody to see their backyard. I haven’t seen a dog outside here but there are a couple of boys. Maybe they want to keep them in.

I can remember my boys exploring all the woods around here when they were growing up. Only trees for fences. Having dirt clod fights, wading in the muddy creek that only had water when it rained, climbing trees, seeing rabbits, deer, raccoons, possums and maybe a fox. They roamed around with friends sometimes as much as a half mile. These kids living here now have no outdoor area to explore except a manicured grass yard with a fence around it. Sad.

So happy my boys had a childhood in the wild. They both still love the outdoors.

I apparently picked up some kind of bug as my lazy day yesterday included a nap, very little food (Ramen noodles only) and back to bed at 8:30pm and sleeping until 7am. No other side effects except a little headachy feeling. Still not wanting much food but I did get outside for a short walk with the dog. Glad to know that 5 mile hike was not the cause of the blahs! I am drinking plenty of liquids as maybe I had gotten a little dehydrated. I hate not having any energy. And I never sleep that long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.