Some of the crop

I planted 4 tomato plants at the end of October, 3 Money Makers and one Sweet 100. Dad wasn't keen on growing the little tomatoes. He thought he got a better return growing larger fruit. He always grew Money Makers.

Next year I think I'll try to planting 1 or 2 plants a week. I'm eating the Sweet 100's. As yet they're not producing enough to supply all I need. Once the 3 laden Money Makers ripen, I'll be struggling to keep up and will be giving them away. If I stagger planting they'll hopefully ripen at different times.

My old home didn't have an ideal aspect for tomatoes. I grew a couple of plants a year but they only produced a mediocre crop.

The past 2 summers I grew tomatoes in buckets and large pots. They did surprisingly well. Ita good first season with the raised vege garden. It's in the same location as the buckets and pots were.

I'm not going to count my tomatoes before they've ripened but I think these may be the best I've grown. Dad would be pleased and proud.

Nearly 2 years ago I shared my crop with him. He'd become too ill to tend his 2 plants and he took great pleasure and pride in having tomatoes grown by me. I wish I could visit and give him some of these.

Today's gratitude: For the pleasure of working out some tricky bits at work today. I love being curious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.