SilverImages

By SilverImages

Awen II

"The true profession of a man is to find his way to himself."
Hermann Hesse 

A few more stones call me, this time from Pontypool Park where they have slightly less pedigree than Avebury, having only been erected in 1923 ready for the 1924 National Eisteddfod.

For those outside our borders who may be unfamiliar with the Eisteddfod, it's a gathering for celebration of Welsh literature, art and music with a recent history dating back to 1861 but a much longer ancestry traced back to 1176 (according to the Eisteddfod website). The Gorsedd Stone Circle has echoes of other circles of course, and they all sing of Awen, our connection through time and space.

K1 and I grabbed the short pause between the showers to take a walk through Pontypool Park up to the stones (for my photo of course), then back down via the ski-slope, where I remember spending much of my first lesson on my backside trying to get the hang of the ski lift. The ground is sodden so K1 stays on the path while I wander to get a better angle for my pic. It's a typical afternoon in the park with families walking, dogs straining to run free, the ski slope busy with classes learning the basics and knots of youngsters and family groups heading for the ever popular swimming pool.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.