Bombs Away

Quite by chance and fortuitously for my blip as it happened the Dewsbury Arm where they turned the barges round was empty, very muddy and surrounded by fencing. On my way home after doing Mum's shopping with little time to spare, whilst pondering on the lack of a scenic vista with ominous clouds overhead there came from behind me a, 'Hello.' Jumping and letting out a frightened squeak I turned to face a man who wanted to know what I was doing there and taking photos of. 

It transpired that on Sunday he had been magnet fishing and found a 2lb mortar bomb from WW11. The army and bomb squad were called, the Police sealed off the section of the Calder and Hebble Navigation,  and evacuated the houses. 

The workmen here are actually replacing the lock doors - lucky they weren't blown off but this isn't the Italian Job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.