The second half of life..

By twigs

Set off mid-morning after enjoying a relaxing breakfast and another brief chat to Henning & Christina.  What was supposed to be a quick stop in Frankton to fill up with fuel, do the dump station thing and fill up with water wasn't really a quick stop.  They're not jobs I particularly enjoy and, as those who know me well know, I detest dirty, sticky or greasy fingers.  My dump station visits are therefore very slow, deliberate and measured, always with a good few hand wipes throughout the process.  

The drive along Lake Wakatipu isn't a long one, though it is a windy one.  Stopped at a viewpoint where it occurred to me I should probably make a decision about which day I would book my Doubtful Sound cruise for.  There followed a lengthy research period - companies, costs, times of cruises, length of day, time actually in Doubtful Sound, size of vessel, passenger numbers for vessel, weather including both rain and wind.........  I did my usual and changed my mind about 5 times but I did eventually manage to book an 8.00am cruise for Friday.  Having decided I didn't need to be in Manapouri until tomorrow I therefore decided to revisit Chicken George's place (I've searched my past blips for this reference but I just can't find it - and I really do have to go to bed!  Will look again later) and stay on the shores of lake Wakatipu down towards Kingston.  Lovely spot, though  very popular and the weather did bomb a bit after about half an hour of being there.  C'est la vie.  There have to be worse places in the world to kick back and relax.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.