High Windows

I've put myself in quarantine today. I managed to croak through the Community Council meeting last night. I wasn't the only person under the weather either. January!

It's only a cold and I'll soon be over it but I'm better off on the sofa. I have plenty to keep me occupied including some work for next week, a library book, my tablet for reading the news (small doses only) and cups of tea to enjoy.

This is my view. I'm not just ripping off Philip Larkin; the windows really are high. The painting is Luskentyre beach, Harris in the Western Isles. It was painted by a very dear friend with whom I holidayed there many years ago. Very sadly my friend died a couple of years after this. I have quite a few of her paintings and prints in the house. She was a talented artist.

It is really wet. And windy. And grey. I'm not going out.

But I do have a warm house, a hot shower, the means of making tea, company so I am very well off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.