Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Take a squint at this..

I've been meaning to look up about birds' eyesight ever since someone (who should have known better) told me that a photo I'd taken of a peregrine would have been improved if the bird had been looking directly at the camera.  Obviously birds like owls, with eyes in the front of their head, can be seen to look straight into the lens, but for the majority of birds their eyes are on the sides, which can make it hard to know what exactly they're seeing.  That's why, for example, robins, herons - and peregrines - can look faintly ridiculous blipped from head-on.

This is what I pulled off the internet:
Eyesight is a bird's most critical sense and the one it relies on the most for flight, evading predators, and finding food…  In many birds, the eyes are positioned further apart on the head, giving them a wider field of view than humans. Birds with eyes on the sides of their head, such as most songbirds, can nearly see directly behind themselves, which can be useful for detecting predators and evading attacks.

Sorry, you probably know this.  And perhaps that's why this blackbird I found by the Nuns' Stream looks so squinty - one eye on me and the other on the ivy berry breakfast just above her head.

Whatever, it amused me and I couldn't resist entering her for Silly Saturday.  Thanks so much to Admirer for hosting ;))

Enjoy your Saturday night  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.