Funky Sky Today......

The girls and I went out for a rather cold, windy and damp walk this morning.   The sky, all day, was strange....... mostly gray, looking like wet clouds going overhead.  Every now and then, you would see a faint blue between the grays, reminding one that this too, would pass.
     The sky reflected how I felt.......   sad and gray because a very dear friend is sick and dying.   But also, because  I packed a small bag for tomorrow morning. , I will be picked up by David C around 4 or 5am  and we will drive 8 hours to Hayesville, North Carolina.   We are going to get another friend, and husband,  who has had a stroke.  Where she lives there is no medical care.  She couldn't get a Doctor to write the order to AirVac her out to a hospital for treatment.   
      David will pack up as much as he can in a U Haul and his van, and drive it to Ocala.  He will leave  after 4 hours of  sleep so he can get back to the nursery with David V. and Linda.  He wants to be there with his family.  
       I will get up early on Monday morning and drive Chris and Judy to Ocala.   Here, where I live,  She can immediately go to the ER and get care, though I fear the worst for her. A part of her brain has been without blood supply in the area  that controls left arm and leg, as well as speech and facial muscles for 7 days, as of today.   
       Both rides will be hard and as quick as possible.  No looking around or photo opps.  We are on a mission and will stay on task.   I do not look forward to this trip, at all.  But neither can I sit by and do nothing when I know a friend is in a lot of trouble.
       I thought the sky was a really good reflection of my mood, at the time.   The New Year is getting off to a really difficult start.   Things have to get better,   and in time, they will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.