The Beacon of Rest!

As I had said on my last Blip, I was riding up to Hayesville, North Carolina to help a friend and husband.   Judy had had some kind of "event" that left her with slurred speech, hand coordination, foot drop, and cognition issues.   Her husband, Chris, or C,  is 81 and stressed to the max.
     David C picked me up at 4:30 am.   He drove all morning through lunch to get  to Hayesville.   C had already packed his van, completely.  David C. began loading the Uhaul trailer and I helped in every way I could.  
      I got an idea, so off to find Judy (J) and C.  We were supposed to spend the night and drive all day tomorrow while David C was leaving as soon as possible.   J, C and I could leave with David, follow him through Atlanta and try to make Macon , Georgia. Then spend the night and finish the drive the next day.   Everyone was ok with splitting the drive,  Around 2 we were ready and started off.
     The drive through Atlanta was busy, as big metropolitan cities can be, with 8 lanes, multiple on and off ramps with several flyovers.   Because it was Sunday and Super Bowl day, the traffic, thankfully was lighter.  But the sun was setting and it made for difficult vision.  We got through just fine, though tense from time to time.
     We arrived in Macon in time to get something to eat and then over to the hotel.  We were all tired.  I had been up since 3 am, drove through 3 pm, and  parked the van at 10:00pm..   I couldn't wait for a shower and a bed.

       The next morning was sunny, I was up at eight, checked out the hotel and went on the hunt for hot water and some strong tea!   I found C enjoying some breakfast.  We exited the hotel, got the car, and I took tonights picture for this Blip.  It is a wonderful church steeple, from the back......       Well, the front was on another road, and I didn't have time to go find it.  By 9, the van was re packed and we were on our way again.   Traffic was light, but J was not feeling well, getting more and more tired.  A stroke-like even,t that she had, (no official diagnosis as of yet) can be frightening  and cause extreme anxiety and panic.  This 2nd day on the road was about 8 hours long, I hoped she would bear up under the stress.  
      We got a hamburger for lunch, a tank full of gas, and headed on our way.  The traffic for Monday, was light heading south, we made great time with no incidents.  Upon arriving at my house, C took the van, I followed them to the Sleep INN where they will stay until the closing of their new villa.  I assisted getting what was needed out of the van, assembled a new walker for J, got some takeout food for them and made sure there was ice and water in the room.  I said good night, call if you need something, and found my own dinner.  I was really hungry, and exhausted.   Home to my villa, a tall glass of delicious cold wine and a bed.........    More about my goofy girls tomorrow.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.