Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Only mad dogs and Englishmen...

...go out in the mid day sun.

So that makes running and/or marshalling the Benfleet 15 in the snow and subzero temperatures completely normal then? Er....

Then Benfleet 15 is a 15 mile race in Benfleet.

No, really - it's true.

It's 15 miles of cross country and road running around Benfleet, Canvey Island and Hadleigh Downs - at the best of times, it's a muddy messy cross country adventure where in all honesty - the aim is to finish let alone get a good time!

But this year, it snowed. The temperatures plummeted and it snowed some more!

Time to crack open 'Snow Mode' on my camera while I was marshalling at the 13.5 mile mark - I was togged up with 3 layers of clothes on my legs, 5 layers on top (including 2 thermal shirts), 2 pairs of socks, walking boots and a woolly hat. I was JUST about warm enough, but was horrified to see the lead runners come storming past in just a pair of teeenyweeny running shorts and vest!

Madness!

Enjoyable day though, but am sounding a bit croaky now after 2-3 hours of yelling support and encouragement to the runners struggling up the hill towards my position.

Well done to everyone who took part today - rather you than me!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.