Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Floater

Last time I was home, my dad gave me some advice.

"That's a waterproof camera? Well, the last time I went snorkelling, I had a waterproof disposable one. I was told that if I dropped it while swimming, you should look up - they float!"

Ahh, hadn't thought of that- makes sense though - a sealed little box full of air probably would float.

I thought no more of it until I remembered dropping the camera into a bowl of water for a previous blip. I got very wet that day; having fun splashing around and fishing the camera out from the bottom of the bowl.

.... The bottom of the bowl.

My camera is waterproof, but it's also crush proof. It has a machined metal skeleton which if dropped underwater is going to go on a one way trip to meet the fishes!

So I did what any caring owner would do - I bought my camera an armband!

Now when scuba diving, should I drop the little bugger, it's going to go towards the light and bob around on the surface!

To be honest - having seen the weather forecast at the moment for North East Australia; they're currently getting washed out by cyclone Oswald mooching its way down the coast! Maybe this armband will be just as useful for going to the shops!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.