The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Grecian Mug

It's just as well Blip doesn't celebrate 900th's as this isn't particularly auspicious, as Blips go. Although I have plenty of mugs to choose from, whenever I make a cup of tea or coffee just for myself I invariably use this old mug, which I've had for maybe twenty years or more. I forget its origins, possibly a souvenir brought back from a foreign holiday for me by my mother.

It's good for tea or coffee but not for anything heated in the microwave as it gets too hot to hold. At the moment I am having to drink instant decaff instead of my normal filter coffees as that would aggravate the rather nasty bladder infection I've had for a couple of weeks now (I'm on antibiotics), so I've been prone to falling asleep all over the place.

A couple of times recently I've noticed the crack you can see has on rare occasions widened slightly to allow the hot liquid within to leak down the mug, as is evident in this picture, so I fear its days are numbered. I decided therefore to record it for posterity before it is chucked in the trash.

(I realise the mug is probably actually Spanish.)

L.
20.1.2013

Blip #900
Consecutive Blip #003
Day #1032

Alternative:
Bottoms Up

Lens: Pentax 50mm f1.8 (close-up +2)

Backdated backblips:
Thursday 17 August 1967: Cornborough (posted 19 January 2013)
Saturday 16 March 1968: Tong Church (posted 19 January 2013)
Friday 1 June 1973: Witley Court And Church (posted 19 January 2013)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Julie London -Black Coffee (1960)
I'm feelin' mighty lonesome Haven't slept a wink I walk the floor And watch the door And in between I drink Black coffee Love's a hand-me-down brew I'll never know a Sunday In this weekday room I'm talking to the shadows Of one o'clock before And Lord how slow the months ago When all I do is pour Black coffee Since the blues caught my eye I'm hanging out on the move My Sunday dreams to dry Now a man is born to go lovin' A woman's born to weep and fret To stay home and tend her oven

One year ago: The Lacock Bakery

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.