fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Loaves

I record my (very) amateur radio show either one evening during the week or on a Sunday morning. I rather like the evening sessions as I take a bottle of wine in with me but, more often than not, it's a Sunday morning that sees me letting myself into the homely studio of Indigo radio.

On my way from the market square to the studio, I usually pop into the bakery to pick up a coffee. Given that I follow a low carb diet, I don't usually buy anything to eat, although the range of cakes and pastries is wonderful.

And, of course, it being a bakers, there is bread. Lots of bread. One of my daughters used to serve behind the counter here and gave a confident impression of knowing the names of all the loaves. Myself, I've never got past learning what a bloomer looks like.

I thought I'd post this today in balance to yesterday's beer photo from Booths. I do love Booths, partly because they sell such lovely and varied stuff but also because I'm constantly suckered by their family run business schtick and their (genuine) support for local producers. But I do want to support small local businesses, too, and the bakery in Kirkby Lonsdale is one of the best. (And no, I'm not being paid for this. *wipes crumbs from mouth*)

PS I'm really sorry for the quality of the photo. It didn't seem to matter so much on Tumblr but I'm still struggling to get anything other than slightly blurry shots from messing with the aperture priority.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.