progress

I'm working on finishing the recycled shirt quilt for my son, out of his old shirts. He asked me a couple years ago, if doing this was possible?? I thought for a minute than said yes -enthusiastically, even though this is my first bed-size quilt!

I researched & figured out how to approach it. Now I am on the last part, quilting the top, bottom & the filling together by sewing through all the layers. This has been the hardest part for me, only because there is so much fabric!! It is hard to push the extra fabric through while sewing the rest, because I have just a basic sewing machine. But I am figuring out how to do it best through experience, the greatest teacher. 

I know Dallas will love it. He has been following my progress on Instagram with lots of positive remarks. Dallas, his wife & my granddaughter are arriving from Boston for a week's visit on Sunday!! 
My wish is that I will finish the quilting, sew the binding on and have the quilt finished by the time they get here, fingers crossed! Another blip I did a week or two ago that shows the whole patchwork quilt laid out is here. ;O) Thanks for stopping by. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.