Current View..........Future View???

I went to an excellent lunch talk today about climate change and the predictions on the impact it will have on Norfolk's wildlife. It really hit home that it's the impact on the ecosystem as a whole that matters. For example, blue tits lay their eggs at a time where there are the most white moth caterpillars around, which are found on oak tree leaves. All of these respond differently to climate change and already the time for the most caterpillars has advanced by 10 days, but the blue tits have only been able to bring forward their egg laying by 5 days.

So much I could tell you, but the most scary info was that we're already at 1C of warming and at 2C we'd potentially lose the following from Norfolk: Whooper and Bewick's Swans; Pink-Footed Geese; Grey Partridges; Snow Buntings; Roe Deer; Water Voles; Adders; Swallowtail butterflies and many more. 

The photo is taken from Cley Visitor Centre over the marshes with their scrapes and gulls, across to the sea with the wind-farm in the distance. I wonder how long this view will be there? I will certainly be joining a Climate Change March planned across Norfolk. 

(When I got home I was editing my photo and writing this whilst watching Antiques Road Trip which was from North Norfolk including Sheringham, Holt and Cley Marshes!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.