lovelife209

By mindful_life

Tree Time Lapse 2

So about a month ago my son and I took a photo of this tree as the idea came from his 365 days wild book to take a photo of the same tree from the same vantage point at least once a month so you can see the change of the tree over the year. 

When I collected my son from school he asked if he could go out on his bike with his friend and I agreed to take them. It was a beautifully sunny afternoon, cold but bright, and the boys had a great time cycling down a big hill close to our house.  I took the opportunity to take a photo of our time lapse tree, because we passed it anyway. See here for my January photo. Little seems to have change in an obvious way, but I should think the next weeks and months will see huge changes. 

I have been reading and listening to some interesting things about change. Change and impermanence.  And I came across this quote from Thick Nhat Hanh. 

"It is not impermanence that makes us suffer, 
What makes us suffer is wanting things to be permanent, when they are not."

Nothing is permanent. When we walk through the door we are different to before we entered. Our thoughts, feelings, the air we breathe into our bodies change moment by moment. Nothing in the world has permanence. Accepting this can be incredibly liberating.

I'll leave you with those thoughts... x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.