Deem

Pronounced something like ‘dayeng’, deem is the present subjunctive form of the verb dar, to give, in the third person plural. It’s a good job I like languages with this sort of lesson material we’re focusing on at the moment. Ilídio asked me whether an English sentence he proffered contained the subjunctive. I said I didn’t have the foggiest as we don’t learn such things, or we didn’t in the period 1994-99, during which I was at high school.

Even though books in Africa are hideously expensive, when I saw this I couldn’t resist purchasing it after bananablip’s rave review. Her mention of raw emotion whilst reading it is strangely what hooked me the most as I enjoy the power of films and books that move me to tears. I’m very much looking forward to starting it this weekend as a coastal getaway is planned with a small cluster of pals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.