Monkey

I braved the trains to see my brother and his family in Newbury. It didn't snow all day and the trains were running fine. It was perfect because the train I caught was practically empty, which never happens on a weekend! As we chugged out of the station, the lady in the seat across the aisle from me asked if she could borrow my phone as she had left hers in her other bag. I've committed the "damn-it's-in-the-other-bag/coat" many times and she looked trustworthy enough, plus she wasn't leaving the train anytime soon and couldn't get up to too much mischief on my phone, surely. She tried several times to get a hold of her husband, but he wasn't around. She sent him a text message to explain the situation, but there was still no response. I left the train with contact unresolved and met Alfie and Scott on the platform, whereupon Scott whisked me to the exciting destination of Sainsbury's for essential foodstuffs cakes. During this time, I missed a phonecall from the husband, so I rang him back. He was really thankful for my go-between messaging service. I felt happy that the lady wasn't going to be stranded at her destination. Hooray!

I had a fantastic time at Scott and Zoe's. Alfie and I played Rocky, Train, Farm and Ball, as well as hide-and-seek Dad. At one point, my right palm was used as a rocket launch pad, while my left was a plate for Alfie's two biscuits and a cake. I was offered one bite of one of the biscuits for my plate services. I was then privileged to be taken by hand (now free of the rocket) to the kitchen where I was given the Ribena bottle. Alfie looked at me quite expectantly, but when I was slow to comprehend, he pulled a sad face and dashed to the living room to tell my brother how stupid auntie was. However, I managed to find Alfie's cup and I delivered the juice before the family disowned me. Redeemed, I was permitted to take this blip.

My niece Kitty is starting to roll about and wants to be where the action is (i.e. with her brother). I spent a while holding her up on her feet while she twisted this way and that, following the play between dad and son. She's a real cutie, too, but I didn't manage to capture a decent picture of her. One day, she'll be a blip star on my journal. In the meantime, here she is on her grandad's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.