Silly Saturday: Silly Postman!

This morning I heard a big thump on the doormat when the postman came, explained by the fact that he brought 3 magazines. One was the latest issue of my regular camera magazine (excellent!): the other two were copies of this week's British Medical Journal (BMJ). "Why two?", I thought. Well one was mine but the other was meant for someone else.

I've known this happen twice before - the polythene wrappers occasionally seem to get a little bit sticky and presumably sometimes they stick together enough to get through the automatic sorters together. (I assume the postman either doesn't notice or hasn't time to take it to the correct house!) On the previous two occasions the extra copy has been for someone just a few streets away so I've popped round with it.

This time the correct address for the extra copy was a couple of miles away (I had to use Google Maps to find the exact street). "Shall I just pop it back in a postbox with a note on it?" I thought. But that might get our nice postie into trouble. Anyway, it was a lovely morning and I fancied a walk before Storm Ciara arrives (although we're forecast to be just on the edge of it here so it might not be too bad). So off I went and got in my 10,000 steps for today and the correct recipient probably received his journal before he even realised it hadn't come...and I got my Silly Saturday blip! I took the photo as I neared the house to make my delivery.

(Note: Even though I retired just over 6 years ago, I still like getting BMJ to find out what's going on in the medical world. And as I get the "senior" edition there's no adverts to have to ignore.)

Many thanks once more to admirer, our wonderful Silly Saturday host.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.