Northern Star

By Lifferz

Standing still

I had a great day today. It started off grey and foggy but by the time I had parked in Tetbury by about 10:30 it was glorious blue sunny skies.

Blip is taken in the interior of St Mary’s church. It’s a very light, uncluttered and airy church which has a fabulous historical feel. The pews are kind of boxed in. I guess you could lie down and sleep during a service and no one would see you! It’s the local church to Highgrove (where Prince Charles lives). I don’t think he goes to the church but I noticed today that a big new sign has gone up for the veg shop he has something to do with- I’m wondering if they’ve changed the shop too, it was little more than a shed with an honesty box for payment last time I looked.

Today I walked just over 6 miles at Westonbirt Arboretum- it was fabulous. I saw a tiny woodpecker drilling it’s beak against a tree branch and even managed to point it out to two guys who were walking past and wondered what I was looking at. They told me there were green woodpeckers in the Old Arboretum but hadn’t seen them where I was (Silk Wood). The arboretum is shut tomorrow because of the forecast high winds.

I got myself over to Cirencester for a swim and managed to swim a whole mile- I feel really pleased with myself. I did breaststroke mainly, relatively ok speed and a bit of backstroke. I’m hoping if I keep going I’ll get confident with front crawl (I’ve lost my confidence with my breathing during that stroke and I get a bit panicky at the mo).

Home to watch the masked singer, first time I will have watched it all the way through. Spoiler alert: (I definitely know who Queen Bee and Hedgehog are as I can hear the Scouse and Mancunian accents even through the electronic voice disguiser thing).

Just finished eating Lemon polenta cake and I’m feeling relaxed :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.