Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Fartlek

Yesterday I took the van to the 2CV man to have its rust replaced with not rust. I’d got the baby bro to drive it there and I drove him back in the Morgan. On the way back, at a T junction we lined up next to a little old lady in a Kia Rio. We were on the right, ready to turn right. She was on the left ready to turn, well, turned out, right as well! There was an interesting moment with a bit of a bang. She gave an apologetic wave but didn’t see the need to stop. We followed, flashing lights, hooting and waving. She ignored us. We followed for 5 miles until she parked in her driveway.

I was a bit worried that she might be a bit intimidated by two blokes who had followed her but I need not have worried. Whilst I got out and looked at the two cars for signs of transferred paint, she gave the baby bro quite a hard time. She very quickly dropped the F bomb and followed it up with the C bomb.

Meanwhile, I reassured myself that we hadn’t actually hit each other (it must have been very close, but I think that the noise was us going over a pot hole). I thanked her for the interesting lesson in use of an extended vocabulary and, after she had given us the useful advice that it was time that we grew up and got a proper car rather than the 42-year old sports car so beloved of teenagers, we waved politely and were on our way.

She had the same make and model of car as our mum. Typical Kia Rio driver!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.