The Jumna, Uttar Pradesh

We left promptly at 10.00.  It was a beautiful day and this evening will be a beautiful one, too, weather-wise, warmer than yesterday, thankfully.  I did not want to nap in the car but could not help it.  After a couple of hours driving, the Rajput stopped for lunch and I opted to stay in the car and give in to the intense desire to sleep.  I don't know how long he was gone, not too long, I think, but I heard him come back and start the engine, and off we went again, and it was quite a while before I felt like sitting up and enjoying the rest of the ride.  I have the feeling that my body is now catching up on much-needed rest.

Early on the way from the Chambal Safari Lodge, we crossed the Jumna.  I didn't know this but the Rajput likes to point out these things, which is much appreciated.  The moment he said that we were crossing, I asked if we could stop somewhere so I could shoot it.  He stopped right there on the bridge, which I didn't expect.  Back home, stopping just like that wouldn't have been allowed at all.  'This is India,' explained the Rajput, 'Many things are allowed.'  Okay!  I remember the Jumna from the Far Pavilions -- Ash's mother Sita died from exhaustion somewhere along its banks.  The morning mist had lingered long after sunrise and gave the place a rather dreamy and nostalgic aura.

At around 15.00, exactly according to our plans, we finally arrived at Lucknow, the capital of Uttar Pradesh and old capital of the British.  It suffered badly during the 1857 uprising and I think I'll get a chance to see some of the monumental buildings tomorrow.

Managed an hour-long chat with Mimi on the ground floor veranda in the late afternoon.  She's feeling much better and she has hardened in her resolve to put an end to the hopeless situation.  There will be some inevitable consequences and some unavoidable risks in all her future decisions, but there's nothing to be done but to face them.  I hope I can help her out with some ideas.  After that, a short chat with AW.  He seems all right but misses me.  I miss him, too.  We miss each other a lot.

THANK YOU for dropping by for a visit.  WiFi isn't always reliable so I might not get to visit in turn as often or comment or leave a token, so just try to tag along from one good WiFi spot to another and I hope I can somehow entertain you ... haha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.