Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Ciara

It's barely credible that I took this picture during the afternoon of Storm Ciara, but there was a lull after lunch, the sun emerged and it was very pleasant out. I got soaked by more rain before I got back home though.

This seemingly serene scene also belies the fact that Gill Beck was roaring away on the other side of the Dam (extras) - it was nearly up to Boxing Day 2015 levels. Indeed, in that event the Beck changed its course and left a dry channel, but there was water in that again today.

I walked the length of Spring Wood, taking various detours where the Beck had burst its bank. It was fairly quiet for wildlife, but I did bump into a flock of pheasants below the White House and a couple of deer in the pastures below Moorside.

I didn't go down the hill to see, but the Aire has burst its banks at the bottom of the village and at several places elsewhere. The train line I commute on was under water today. We'll see if the water has subsided by the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.