Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Lonesome

I saw this cygnet in the Reserve this morning, all on her lonesome.  Although this month I've seen last year's cygnets still with their families, I've also seen them without.  So I'm reckoning the moment's coming when they'll be left to sort their lives out.  I don't know if this is one of the 2 cygnets I followed through last year, but think it likely.

A couple of factoids dredged up from the back of my brain: swans can fly up to 50 miles an hour - and swallow gravel to help digest food.  No wonder they pebbledash the Reserve's paths so effectively!

We've had quite a bit of sun today, but the wind hasn't finished with us yet.  I've only seen one tree down, and a couple of substantial branches, but a driver was killed by a falling tree just north of here.

And I have made a very unsuccessful attempt to get next door's, agents involved in sorting out the blown down fences.

Hope Monday's treated you kindly  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.