Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Goodbye to Kovalam

Today I left Kovalam to move inland and get on with the real reason I'm here. My car was coming at noon, so I made the most of the morning. Being me all was packed the night before. After breakfast I had a swim in the sea then in the pool, my last for three weeks.
I got myself changed ready to travel and went down to one of the beachside cafes to have a fresh lime soda and watch the world go by.
This lady is one of the fish sellers who go up and down the beach seeing too the local restaurants. I'm always amazed at their ability to carry things on their head, not just bowls, but piles of fabrics, washing, heaps fruit à la Carmen Miranda!, I've even seen enormous sacks of rice and suitcases being carried this way!
My car came and we set off on the 4 hour drive to Tirunelveli stopping only for a roadside of tea and a vadai- a savoury doughnut shaped thing. The journey went well and I'm now safely ensconced in the room which will be home for the next three and a bit weeks, I've picked up the bits and pieces which were being stored for me to.
Raja my friendly auto-driver came and picked me up and took me to buy some odds and ends and then to a cafe for dinner where I had chicken 65 and some parotta. It's nice to be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.