Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Sitting ducks

I enjoyed an afternoon walk through the forest and along the wetlands of the Margaret River although I was constantly aware of the potential of snakes and kept thinking that next time I will wear my gumboots (wellingtons, rubber boots) even though it is rather warm and dry weather for them. They might be a bit hot and uncomfortable but at least I will be able to concentrate on the birds and stop worrying about reptiles (perhaps I will stop worrying).

There are several different varieties of ducks in the river and I took a number of photos of them in the water. When I returned from my walk there were 4 Australian Wood Ducks (Chenonetta jubata) sunning themselves while on the handrail of the foot bridge .... they really were "sitting ducks" as I took the shot. These ducks are also known as Maned Ducks. This photo shows both the female (foreground) and the darker male (background). While they are not that colourful they do have exquisite detail in their plumage.

Also on the walk I enjoyed watching a mother grey fantail feeding its young...Just couldn't get a photo with the movement and the vegetation. And the kookaburras were once again having a good old laugh...Although it is quite a harsh sound it is for many a truly evocative sound of Australia, and I love it.

Only cooking for one (moi) this evening and so it is crumbed lamb chops ... a simple meal but I'm salivating at the thought. I have a gorgeous kitchen here with a great view of the garden and so I will have to try not to be distracted by visiting birds while I cook...a challenge.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.