Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Superciliousus...got ya

At last I managed to get a photo of the Western Spinebill (Acanthorhynchus superciliosus). I have only just learnt it's latin name and how appropriate it is with Acanthorhynchus meaning spine bill...ok...and supercilious meaning looking or behaving as though one thinks one is superior to others. Well little birdy, you may be pretty gorgeous but personally I prefer my friend the white breasted robin who is happy to keep me company for many hours during the day. You on the other hand just show up when it suits you and today you were an hour later than yesterday and I almost missed you. Western Spinebills are listed in my book as being endemic to this region of Western Australia but I don't spot them here very often.

And as for the kookaburras who flew down the valley just as I was taking your photo and then sat very high in a gum tree laughing as though mocking me because they were too far away for me to photograph, Well Mr Kookaburras today wasn't about you.

Today was spent helping Peter clean the house ready for a potential buyer who was viewing it at 1.00pm. Hopefully it will sell quickly so that there is one less garden to maintain. The family had a beautiful nights sleep in their new home with toddler Max staying in his new big boys bed all night and only calling out to mum twice and going straight back to sleep without her having to go to him. Excellent! Gaby went for a paddle along the river and saw a large family of emu's ...lucky him. I don't dare take the camera out on the kayak as I have overturned it before. Need to bring the underwater housing and camera back here next time.

Enough from me...wonder what tomorrow will bring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.