afterthoughts

By afterthoughts

Raoul Wallenberg Statue, Budapest

Raoul Wallenberg Statue, Szilágyi Erzsebet fasor, Budapest

Budapest, as I have said before, is a city full of magnificent statues and the task of taking a creative shot of a statue always interests me. One of the most impressive statues is this one of Raoul Wallenberg in the second district.

With only my iphone at my disposal I was a bit handicapped but I couldn't let the opportunity pass so this is the result of my efforts. In view of the fact that I landed at this statue by pure chance, having got on the wrong bus this morning (!), I suppose I can be pleased with the result.Wallenberg, a Swedish diplomat, rescued many Jews in Budapest during the war. This statue got a lot of attention last year but for all the wrong reasons when "unknown persons" placed pigs feet at the monument.

The work was designed by one of Hungary's most famous artists, Imre Varga, and contains the inscription:"Donec eris felix multos numerabis amicos tempora si fuerint nubila solus eris." "When you are lucky, many friends you have, once the sky turns cloudy, alone you remain." You might be interested to check out these links here and here .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.