Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

I want to ride my bicycle

(11/2/20)

G and I had a much-needed getting thing done for ourselves day today!

It started with a trip to an industrial estate in Al Quoz to visit a car workshop who advertise as experts in classic car restoration. They looked like they have a passion for fixing cars and listened to my story about the Volvo. We then went across town to Volvo themselves. I had intended to see my car again and start it up, but it was clear they service advisor didn't want me anywhere around it! They have given me until Thursday to organise a workshop that will have it and even said they will deliver it there for free!

We went into Festival City as the next place we wanted to go wouldn't be open until after 2 pm. It's just as well as I was definitely ready for lunch! That and a small shop done, we headed to an area of town which has completely changed over the last few years.

The CD player on my Yamaha music centre is faulty and I finally got it ready for the service centre today. Well, I have never seen such a sorry excuse for a service centre in my whole life! It was not organised like a workshop to repair high-end electronics at all. I took a picture of the chaos but can't really post it. They're very sensitive in this part of the world about such things! I should say that it seriously made me consider ever buying a Yamaha product again. These bicycles were parked up near this tree just outside.

It was great to finally be home and enjoy what was left of the weekend. I had a meeting with the landlord's rep later; something I have to admit I find hard and tend to avoid. We showed up at the agreed time and waited, fortunately not too long. I had all my cheques written out based on the current rent and payment terms. I couldn't believe it then when he said our rent had been lowered and I could pay in four cheques. Wow. So pleased I took a spare cheque book with me. It's the first time ever in my adult life that I've been able to pay in four cheques. There was a time, not so long ago, when landlords wanted all their money, upfront, at the start of the year in one cheque. Now they are willing to negotiate.

We went to one of our favourite cafes to have a little celebratory meal! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.