300 bricks

90% of a ton. 10 wheelbarrow-loads at 90kg each from the end of the garden to the front of the house.

Me. Yesterday. (By the time I finished it was too dark to take a photo.)

Sorry, Grace.

When we came here we had some internal walls knocked down and I wanted to keep the rather lovely bricks. (I've no idea how they are so clean.) Rather than have useless brick piles I built a sturdy (two bricks deep) dry-brick wall in front of the corrugated iron boundary at the end of the garden, and a dry-brick patio - at least three layers - to catch the evening sun.

Dismantling the wall I was astounded to see that the bottom bricks were a foot below ground level. I did not dig a foundation-trench that deep 27 years ago - this is the ground level rising.

I've done another four barrow-loads today but have yet to start on taking the patio apart.

What a genius invention the wheelbarrow is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.