Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

You want this 'ere mate?

Ten tons of medium hedging stone from Delabole about to hurtle onto the driveway.
Luckily clever clogs Booty phoned the quarry last week and got through to the owner, the following ensued.
"Hi, it's Bootneck from Mount Hawke, how are you?"

.....pregnant pause, hackles set off into vertical position.....

"Ahhhh, you'll be the man who came here before Christmas and placed his order......which I've lost now. How much did you want and when?"

Manaña has a sense of urgency about it that is hard to convey in the Cornish expression "Dreckly."

There's another 15 tons of stone due here when they can get here. Friday sounds possible.

In other news........
Many good things. Too much going on but it keeps us ticking over. The lady in the bank looked at my passport image, then looked at me, "Good looking cove isn't he?" I muttered, "Do you notice the limpid pools of misty green which are my eyes?" Took the cash and ran offski.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.