It's a beautiful day . . .

. . . the sun is shining!, sung the rock group Queen. And they would have been right if they'd been in Oban today. Blue skies all day long, a gentle breeze, and . . . sunshine!

I thought originally that I'd better get on with some garden design work, using a sore foot as an excuse for not going out, but by lunchtime I couldn't stay indoors any longer and took the car up behind the cathedral and climbed Battleship Hill, all 420 feet of it, though I must have driven some of that height to reach the car park.  Properly named Cnoc Carnach, it was given its local name, apparently, from its use as a naval look-out point during the First World War and was once covered with trees, cut down for wartime use.

Absolutely wonderful up there - tremendous views, blue sea, blue sky, snowy mountains on both Morven and Mull. It was a bit crowded tho' - I met a man coming up when I was coming down!

I then drove along to the war memorial and sat on a nearby seat, watching the 'Isle of Mull' coming in, followed by the 'Loch Striven' from Lismore. A neighbour happened to walk by, so she shared my seat for a while and we had a blether before we both decided to go home. My extra today is of Dunollie Castle from the other side, from the slopes of Battleship Hill.

A glorious day; surely nothing as nasty as another storm will spoil it! But what can we do! Anyone for Dennis?

Quote of the day:

Beverley Nichols, 'Merry Hall' - "In the scale of eternal values, a hundred military divisions are outweighed by a single pinch of thistledown."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.