Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Redwing #18

This afternoon I took a drive over to Parkgate. Had I been more organised, I would have gone yesterday, which was ACTUAL high tide and apparently it reached the walls and there was plenty to see. Today, the wind was not strong enough and the tide did not come in nearly so far. I saw a few Marsh Harriers at a distance, some Great White Egrets and the other usual ducks, geese and waders, but nothing really close enough for a decent shot. As I walked back to the car, I passed a field that had a number of birds feeding on the ground, many of them redwings. I think that these winter thrushes are lovely looking birds and was happy to stay out another few minutes to get some shots. Again they were a bit far away, but I'm quite pleased with this, even if it's cropped quite a lot. 

Now I have recorded the dates of the next high tides, I will try and get down on the correct day next month to see what has been described as a real spectacle. 

I think I am now up to date with all the shots I have got for my missing days now. I missed a couple when we got back from vacation. I will do some commenting later this evening - I need to get back into the swing of things. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.