Sunset on the Beach

Have spent the day in Nottingham with Michael Lau learning the fundamentals of flash photography, (I know, two days late). A combination of Tuesday's empiricism with Michael's patient instruction enabled me to take this photo using three studio lights: a key light, a fill in light to the left and a back light with an orange gel to simulate a sunset.

Could perhaps have done with a slightly smaller aperture so that the knob on the top of the handbag was also in focus. For another time.

It's not perfect but I set it up all myself. A sense of achievement.

Because of the damage to the Clifton flyover, I had to travel into Nottingham by tram, walking from the Forest Recreation Ground to the studio, which took me half an hour. Thus I discovered the Arboretum and that the High School tram stop is rather nearer to the studio than the Forest stop. All grist to the mill. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.