Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Airports

Drove G to the home of a new student she's picked up to tutor. Unfortunately she has to travel to the kids home EXCEPT, she lives right opposite the airport, and as I had an hour to kill, I drove around to get some shots. Annoyed with myself that I've never come upon this view before. Every other year, Dubai hosts an airshow, and I've just found my place to view the flying display in November.

So... the picture shows the Control Tower and Terminal 3 (Emirates own terminal - which I hate), an Emirates aircraft and... a PIA aircraft! Had to smile. [PIA is the national carrier of the country I am from!]

A bit of aviation history... Emirates started out in 1985 by leasing one aircraft from... PIA! It's first flight was to Karachi (place of my birth) and since then, I believe it is the fastest growing airline in the world.

I wanted to show you the newly completed Terminal 4 building which is exclusively built to cope with the A380s and another fact... Emirates now fly an A380 5 times a day to Heathrow alone! You can tell I live close to an airport (and LOVE it) and am fascinated by aviation!

Can't believe we're already into start of Week 4 of 2013. Time flies (just like planes!)

Thank you so much for lovely comments on yesterday's "healthy" blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.