Stop

For a fleeting moment of terror I thought I was going to meet my maker this morning. On an otherwise normal Friday morning, another car went through a stop sign and into the intersection. Their lights just kept coming.

They must have realised as I'm pretty sure they slammed on their brakes. It likely saved me from a t-boning at speed. It wouldn't have been pretty.

The Selwyn District where I live has the highest rate of intersection crashes in the country, many of them resulting in death or serious injury.

Going through stop signs is a favourite pass time. Even commuter traffic transitioning from rural to semi-rural areas on a Friday morning. People familiar with the roads, not tourists from another country.

I'm still here but it does make you think.

Any hoo, my day unfolded nicely from that point on. I'm ahead of schedule at work, my toe has had its best day yet, and the vacuuming is done (that's awin in my world).

I stopped to buy a lancewood (pseudopanax crassifolius) on the way home. Not so much a celebration, more a replacement. They're a tough tree to kill but I've managed it. Five are still alive so another way to look at, is that I have an 85% success rate growing them.

Check out the extra. He's the handsome chap buckled into my co-pilot seat :-)

Today's gratitude: For being in one piece at the end of today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.