Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Chile - Day 6 - Torres del Paine

Our last full day in Patagonia and Valentine’s Day! We woke up to a howling wind and rain splattering on the windows, but by the time we went to breakfast the sun had come out and it was no longer raining, but the wind was still blowing. We decided to do a hike suggested to us, it would be quite challenging at 14km long with an ascent of 800m and a very tricky steep descent - the Alto del Toro, which was a hike above the Lake Toro. It was very steep in parts but we were given hiking poles and they sure make a difference - I have now got so used to walking with hiking poles I cannot believe I managed without them before, particularly for the steep descents. 

The groups are small, there were six of us and it was yet again a very interesting group of people. One of the hikers was 73 years old and is having a vegan cookery book published this year, she was so impressive doing this hike and managing the steep parts so well, she never held us back once. It was beautifully sunny but the strong winds were horrible, making some parts of the walk quite cold. We stopped halfway for our picnic lunch in a clearing in a sheltered valley. We walk with backpacks and of course mine is so heavy as besides carrying my heavy full frame DSLR camera, I have to carry my lunch, rain jacket, extra fleece, etc. Being an environmentally friendly hotel there is no plastic used here so our lunches and water are in metal canisters - great for the environment, not so great for the extra weight on my back! I think my backpack was at least 7kg today which is quite heavy for me to carry all day - although it did help to anchor me down when the strong winds were pushing me around!

After lunch we reached the highlight of the hike, a place where you have 360 degree views of the mountains ranges around us. However up there the winds were about 60km per hour, they were so strong I could not stand upright without the fear of being blown over, and I was too nervous to get to the very edge of the precipice to see the views properly. Our guide videoed the scene for me on my phone.The hike down was not easy, some parts slippery with loose shale and very steep.

The valleys were looking so pretty with many summer flowers - daisies, beautiful pink grasses, large clover flowers, many calafate berries and a pretty blue flower called Estrellita aka Fuegian Edelweiss (see extra). It was a great day out and one of the most scenic and beautiful hikes we have done.

Sadly it's our last night - and my last Calafate sour drink tonight - the Patagonian version of the famous Pisco sour - and we say goodbye to some lovely friends we have made this week. It has been such a beautiful part of the world to visit - as the hotel says, luxury is about experience, not appearance, and then with that in mind this has then been a very luxurious trip indeed.  Tomorrow morning we leave at 8am for the long drive back to Punta Arenas and the next chapter of the holiday, Antartica. Interestingly, a large majority of people staying here have either come here after an Antarctica trip or are about to go on one, so some people we will be seeing again on the same boat as us.

All going well with Xena at home, I got some Valentine kisses from her via WhatsApp today! She is finally allowed out for social walks again after her bout of kennel cough and she had great fun with other dogs in the woods today. I get many photos and videos from the dog sitter which is lovely.

Thank you for all the hearts and lovely comments I have received this week - I have read all of them but with such poor wifi and only available at reception I have been unable to reply.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.