Hanging In There

My bouquet of tulips is evolving ....now the light pink tulips are starting to open....I set the vase by the window and clicked away....perfect for Flower Friday.....thanks Anni for keeping this challenge going. 

Here are a few more things I learned from the speaker yesterday. Remember, the subject was "House Plants". One of the things I remember is that she said to ALWAYS use a plastic container for your plant when you are using a pot without a drain hole; place the container inside the pot with a small layer of small rocks in the bottom of the pot, take the container out to water your plant. Another task I did this morning was to check every plant and remove any dead or yellow leaves once a week, then rotate each plant a quarter turn; I put a marble in each pot to mark the side next to the window so I would make sure I moved every plant again in 3 or 4 months. That way the plant will grow evenly and form a nice shape. One more thing she told us was that plants need humidity and one way to do that was to group plants together and place a big tray under them with rocks about the size of a M&M covered in water under the planters; as the water evaporates it adds the needed humidity, especially in the winter when the heater is drying out the inside air. See Extra photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.